Show More
The Australian of the Year Awards
National Australia Day Council

Towards the end of 2005 I received an email from the National Australia Day Committee asking if
I'd like to make the trophies for the Australian of the Year Awards. This involved making 32 State Awards and 4 major awards each year. I made the deadline for 9 years and the best part was going to the awards ceremony in Canberra, where my family and I met some of the winners, Prime Ministers and The Wiggles!

The awards kept me busy for around 3 months each year and it was a huge honour to make them. Below are some pictures of some of the recipients with their awards and pics of the making process.

Photo: David McArthur

Kristin McFarlane © 2017

2008 Award recipients: Young Australian of the Year: Casey Stoner Australian of the Year: Lee Kernighan Prime Minister Kevin Rudd Local Hero: Jonanthan Welch Senior Australian of the Year: David Bussau